Showing Galleries
Back to Knowledge

Tate Modern

Tate Modern is a modern art gallery located in London, in the Bankside area of the London Borough of Southwark. Built after World War II as Bankside Power Station.

It is Britain’s national gallery of international modern art and forms part of the Tate group (together with Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool, Tate St Ives and Tate Online) Tate holds the national collection of British art from 1900 to the present day and international modern and contemporary art. The galleries are housed in the former Bankside Power Station, which was originally designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, the architect of Battersea Power Station, and built in two stages between 1947 and 1963. The power station closed in 1981. In 1992 The Tate Gallery at the British National Art Museum proposed a competition to build a new building for modern art. The purpose for the new building would help with the ever-expanding collection on modern and contemporary art. In 1995 it was announced that Herzog & de Meuron had won the competition with their simple design. The architects decided to reinvent the current building instead of demolishing it.

The Tate Modern is an example of adaptive reuse, the process of finding new life in old buildings. Thanks to its industrial architecture, this powerhouse of modern art is awe-inspiring even before you enter and has enjoyed spectacular popularity ever since.

The gallery attracts five million visitors a year!




020 7887 8888